Staff

Chair and Deputy Chair

Robert Horton, Chair.  Brown University (A.B.), Ohio State University (M.A.), Yale University (ABD). Research specialties: technology and cultural heritage, digital preservation, electronic records. Email: hortonr@si.edu.

Wendy Shay, Deputy Chair and Audiovisual Archivist.  Indiana University (B.A.), Cooperstown Graduate Programs (M.A.). Research specialties: moving image archives, film preservation, industrial film. Email: shayw@si.edu.


Reference

Joe Hursey, Reference Archivist.  Campbell University (B.S.), American Public University ( M.A.). Research specialties: military history and history of  psychological trauma resulting from exposure to combat. Email: hurseyw@si.edu

Kay Peterson, Client Services Archivist.  Iowa State University (BA). Research specialties: digital scanning, audiovisual duplication, reference services. Email: petersonk@si.edu.
 

Collections Acquisition

Cathy Keen, Archivist.  George Washington University (B.A.). Research specialties: history of Washington, D.C., history of technology collections. Email: keenc@si.edu.

Craig A. Orr, Archivist.  University of Delaware (B.A., M.A.). Research specialties: archives administration, railroad history, military uniforms. Email: orrc@si.edu.
 

Collections Arrangement, Description, Preservation

Vanessa Brousard Simmons, Archivist.  University of Maryland (B.A. ), George Washington University (M.A.). Research specialties: advertising ephemera; preservation administration. Email: broussardv@si.edu.

Alison L. Oswald, Archivist.  St. Bonaventure University (B.A.), Ball State University (M.S.), State University of New York at Albany (M.L.S.). Research specialties: American inventors, archival arrangement and description, and archives and technology. E-mail: oswalda@si.edu. Click here to go to the Lemelson Center.

Franklin Robinson, Jr., Archives Technician.  The Catholic University of America (B.F.A.), American University (M.A.). Research specialties: performing arts, film, American agriculture, family history and genealogy, Church of England in colonial Maryland, LGBT history. Email: robinsonf@si.edu


Special Projects

John A. Fleckner, Archivist.   Colgate University (B.A.), University of Wisconsin (M.A.). Research specialties: archives administration. Email: flecknerj@si.edu.

David E. Haberstich, Archivist.  Rochester Institute of Technology (B.F.A),   Indiana University (graduate study in art history), John Hopkins University (M.L.A.). Research specialties: history of photographic art and technology, conservation of photographs, history of twentieth-century art, history of photographic social documentation. Email: haberstichd@si.edu.

Deborra A. Richardson, Curator Emerita.  Howard University (B. Mus.),   University of Maryland (M.L.S.). Research specialties: early twentieth-century African American music, Duke Ellington, African American research collections, archives administration, sheet music. Email: richardsond@si.edu.