Staff

Acting Department Chair

Wendy Shay, Acting Chair. B.A. (1976) Indiana University; M.A. (1983) Cooperstown Graduate Programs. Research specialties: moving image archives; film preservation; industrial film. Email: shayw@si.edu.


Reference

Joe Hursey, Reference Archivist. B.S. (2009) Campbell University; M.A. (2011) American Public University.  Research specialties: military history and history of psychological trauma in relation to exposure to combat. Email: hurseyw@si.edu

Kay Peterson, Client Services Archivist; BA (1978) Iowa State University. Research Specialties: digital scanning, audiovisual duplication, reference services. Email: petersonk@si.edu.
 

Collections Acquisition

Cathy Keen, Archivist. B.A. (1978) George Washington University. Research specialties: history of Washington, D.C.; history of technology collections. Email: keenc@si.edu.

Craig A. Orr, Archivist. B.A. (1980), M.A. (1984) University of Delaware. Research specialties: archives administration; railroad history; military uniforms. Email: orrc@si.edu.
 

Collections Arrangement, Description, Preservation

Vanessa Brousard Simmons, Archivist. B.A. (1981) University of Maryland; M.A. (1987) George Washington University. Research specialties: advertising ephemera; preservation administration. Email: broussardv@si.edu.

Alison L. Oswald, Archivist. B.A. (1989) St. Bonaventure University; M.S. (1992) Ball State University; M.L.S. (1995) State University of New York at Albany. Research specialties: American inventors, arrangement and description of archives, and archives and technology. E-mail: oswalda@si.edu. Click here to go to the Lemelson Center.

Franklin Robinson, Jr., Archives Technician. B.F.A. (1981) The Catholic University of America; M.A. (1988) American University; Research specialties: Performing arts, film, American agriculture, family history and genealogy, Church of England in colonial Maryland. Email: robinsonf@si.edu


Special Projects

John A. Fleckner, Archivist. B.A. (1963) Colgate University; M.A. (1965 and 1970) University of Wisconsin. Research specialties: archives administration. Email: flecknerj@si.edu.

David E. Haberstich, Archivist. B.F.A. (1963) Rochester Institute of Technology; graduate study in art history (1963-1964) Indiana University; M.L.A. (1970) John Hopkins University. Research specialties: history of photographic art and technology; conservation of photographs; history of twentieth-century art; history of photographic social documentation. Email: haberstichd@si.edu.

Deborra A. Richardson, Curator Emerita. B. Mus. (1977) Howard University; M.L.S. (1979) University of Maryland. Research specialties: early twentieth-century African American music; Duke Ellington; African American research collections; archives administration; sheet music. Email: richardsond@si.edu.