Binocular Telescope

Description
This is a brass instrument with center focus, and center adjustment for inter-ocular distance. The objective lenses are 40 mm diameter. The length is 29 cm (closed). Each eye tube is marked “LEVY, DREYFUS & CO / NEW YORK.” These came to the Smithsonian in 1907. A note in the file reads: “Prussian Army Field Glass used in 1885 by the [U.S.] Geological Survey but now discarded because of the small field of view.
Levy, Dreyfus & Co. was in business in New York City in the 1890s, advertising as opticians and as wholesale importers.
Location
Currently not on view
Object Name
field glasses
date made
ca 1880
ID Number
PH*247931
catalog number
247931
accession number
47736
See more items in
Medicine and Science: Physical Sciences
Science & Mathematics
Optics
Data Source
National Museum of American History, Kenneth E. Behring Center

Comments

Add a comment about this object