Richard Frères Aneroid Barograph

Description
This type of barograph, with eight aneroid shells acting as a single aneroid chamber, was invented by Jules Richard in Paris in 1880. It was introduced into the U.S. Weather in 1888, and remained in use for many years. This example came to the Smithsonian in 1909, a transfer from the U.S. Geological Survey. The base is marked “RF 673.” The drum carries a one-week record. The cover is missing.
Ref: W. E. Knowles Middleton, Catalog of Meteorological Instruments in the Museum of History and Technology (Washington, D.C., 1969), pp. 29-30.
Location
Currently not on view
Object Name
barometer, aneroid, recording
date made
ca 1888-1909
maker
Richard Freres
Measurements
overall: 17 cm x 28 cm x 12.5 cm; 6 11/16 in x 11 in x 4 15/16 in
place made
France: Île-de-France, Paris
ID Number
PH*252981
accession number
49676
catalog number
252981
subject
Science
See more items in
Medicine and Science: Physical Sciences
Measuring & Mapping
Barometers
Data Source
National Museum of American History, Kenneth E. Behring Center

Comments

Add a comment about this object