Abraham Lincoln's Top Hat

Description
At six feet four inches tall, Lincoln towered over most of his contemporaries. He chose to stand out even more by wearing high top hats. He acquired this hat from J. Y. Davis, a Washington hat maker. Lincoln had the black silk mourning band added in remembrance of his son Willie. No one knows when he obtained the hat, or how often he wore it. The last time he put it on was to go to Ford’s Theatre on April 14, 1865.
After Lincoln’s assassination, the War Department preserved his hat and other material left at Ford’s Theatre. With permission from Mary Lincoln, the department gave the hat to the Patent Office, which, in 1867, transferred it to the Smithsonian Institution. Joseph Henry, the Secretary of the Smithsonian, ordered his staff not to exhibit the hat “under any circumstance, and not to mention the matter to any one, on account of there being so much excitement at the time.” It was immediately placed in a basement storage room.
The American public did not see the hat again until 1893, when the Smithsonian lent it to an exhibition hosted by the Lincoln Memorial Association. Today it is one of the Institution’s most treasured objects.
Transfer from the War Department with permission from Mary Lincoln, 1867
Object Name
top hat
Object Type
Hats
date made
mid 19th century
user
Lincoln, Abraham
maker
Davis, J. Y.
Physical Description
silk (overall material)
Measurements
overall: 7 in x 10 3/8 in x 12 in; 17.78 cm x 26.35504 cm x 30.48 cm
place made
United States: District of Columbia, Washington
worn at
United States: District of Columbia, Ford's Theater
ID Number
PL*9321
accession number
38912
catalog number
9321
subject
Assassination
Presidents
related event
Assassination of Abraham Lincoln
See more items in
Political History: Political History, Presidential History Collection
National Treasures exhibit
Clothing & Accessories
Government, Politics, and Reform
Exhibition
Changing America
Exhibition Location
National Museum of American History
Data Source
National Museum of American History, Kenneth E. Behring Center

Comments

Add a comment about this object