Watkins & Hill Telescope

<< >>
Description
This telescope has an achromatic objective, a four-element erecting eye piece, and a three-draw brass body covered with brown leather that tapers notably from front to back. It bears the inscription "Watkins & Hill, Charing Cross, London" and "THE HONBLE CHARLES HAY, SCOTS FUSILIER GUARDS." Watkins & Hill were in business from 1822 to 1856. The Scots Fusilier Guards were established in 1831.
Location
Currently not on view
date made
ca 1830 - 1856
maker
Watkins & Hill
place made
United Kingdom: England, London
Measurements
overall: 10 in x 2 in; 25.4 cm x 5.08 cm
overall: 10 1/4 in x 2 3/8 in; 26.035 cm x 6.0325 cm
ID Number
PH.330321
catalog number
330321
accession number
290549
See more items in
Medicine and Science: Physical Sciences
Measuring & Mapping
Navigation
Astronomy
Data Source
National Museum of American History, Kenneth E. Behring Center

Comments

Add a comment about this object