Painting, Barque Otteren

Description
The was originally built as the barque Robert Barbour. It was built in 1862 by Brown in Richibucto, New Brunswick. Robert Barbour measured 146 feet long and 561 tons. Its first owners were Duff and Company and it traded between Liverpool and India. Around 1867 Robert Barbour was sold to J.C. Johnson of Norway and its name was changed to Otteren, which means "the otter" in English. The Otteren was listed as abandoned by Lloyds in 1886.
The painting is a profile of Otteren with all its sails unfurled. A steamer to the right and several small sailing vessels to the left are visible. The ensign flown by the vessels is unique and is not readily recognized by Norwegians. At this time period Norway and Sweden were united under Sweden's monarch, as Norway had no king. Norway only began using its current flag in 1905 when a king from Denmark took the throne. Norway combined the flags, taking the yellow horizontal stripe of the Swedes and the Blue vertical bar of the Norwegians. In the painting the yellow bar is fading.
Location
Currently not on view
Object Name
painting
painting, oil
date made
1849
maker
Maryford, W. Mitchell
Physical Description
oil on canvas (overall material)
Measurements
without frame: 30 1/2 in x 46 1/2 in; 77.47 cm x 118.11 cm
with frame: 38 1/2 in x 54 3/4 in; 97.79 cm x 139.065 cm
ID Number
2005.0279.040
accession number
2005.0279
catalog number
2005.0279.040
subject
Maritime
See more items in
Work and Industry: Maritime
Art
Cigna Maritime Collection
Transportation
Data Source
National Museum of American History, Kenneth E. Behring Center

Comments

Add a comment about this object