Painting, The Ship Maldon

<< >>
Description
Maldon was built in 1863 in Quebec. It measured 199 feet in length, 37.9 feet in beam, 22 feet in depth of hold, and 1187 tons. Maldon was owned by a Mr. Findlay, and its master was Captain T. Scott. From its home port of Liverpool, England, the Maldon was active in the trade with India. Later, the ship was owned by Harry Smith Edwards of South Shields. It was last listed in Lloyd's Register in 1871, and its end is unknown. The painting shows the starboard side of Maldon in front of a rocky coastline. To the right of the painting is a second view of the same ship. Birds and some debris are present in the foreground. In a July 1997 letter, British Marine painting authority A.S. Davidson speculates that the background is probably the entrance to Sunderland harbor, a point about 10 miles south of Scott's usual backdrop of Tynemouth. John Scott was a Newcastle painter born in 1840. He worked mainly in oils.Typically his paintings featured England's eastern coastline in the background.
Location
Currently not on view
date made
1867
maker
Scott, John
Physical Description
oil on canvas (overall material)
Measurements
without frame: 26 in x 45 in; 66.04 cm x 114.3 cm
with frame: 31 in x 49 1/4 in; 78.74 cm x 125.095 cm
ID Number
2005.0279.045
accession number
2005.0279
catalog number
2005.0279.045
Credit Line
Gift of CIGNA Museum and Art Collection
subject
Maritime
See more items in
Work and Industry: Maritime
Art
Cigna Maritime Collection
Transportation
Data Source
National Museum of American History, Kenneth E. Behring Center

Comments

Add a comment about this object