Painting, Mary Ann and Jane

Description
The Mary Ann and Jane was built in Sunderland in 1853. It measured 114 feet in length, 26 feet 5 inches in beam, 17 feet 2 inches in depth, and 349 tons. The ship was originally owned by Ogilsby until 1861 when W. Allison gained ownership. Later, in 1866, it was sold to M. Reay. After 1872, the ship dropped out of Lloyds Registry. Mary Ann and Jane is pictured with the port side in view under full sail off the coast of Tynemouth. The ship is flying the British flag at the stern and a blue pennant on top reads "Mary Ann and Jane". It is sailing on choppy green seas and other vessels can be seen in the background. John Scott was a Newcastle painter born in 1840. He worked mainly in oils. Typically his paintings featured England's eastern coastline as the background.
Location
Currently not on view
date made
1866
maker
Scott, John
Physical Description
oil on canvas (overall material)
Measurements
without frame: 25 in x 39 in; 63.5 cm x 99.06 cm
with frame: 29 5/8 in x 43 3/4 in x 1 7/8 in; 75.2475 cm x 111.125 cm x 4.7625 cm
ID Number
2005.0279.048
accession number
2005.0279
catalog number
2005.0279.048
Credit Line
Gift of CIGNA Museum and Art Collection
subject
Maritime
See more items in
Work and Industry: Maritime
Art
Cigna Maritime Collection
Transportation
Data Source
National Museum of American History, Kenneth E. Behring Center

Comments

Add a comment about this object