Ship Model of the Whaling Barque Mary Frazier

Description
Mary Frazier was a three-masted whaling bark built in 1832 in Newbury, MA. It measured 108 feet 10 inches in length, 24 feet 1 inch in beam, 12 feet 1 inch in depth of hold, and 288 tons. It was originally a cargo vessel, with multiple owners. In 1842 its captain was James L. Smith; George Hagery took over as captain in 1849. The Frazier was registered in New Bedford, MA, a center for American whaling. In 1889, Mary Frazier was abandoned at sea in the Dutch East Indies after an unusually long career for a ship of 67 years. This model appears to be sailor-made, which indicates a lower overall quality but with detailed rigging. There is elaborate rigging and lines but no sails, and the model is not highly finished.
Location
Currently not on view
Object Name
ship model
date made
ca 1945
maker
unknown
Physical Description
wood (overall material)
Measurements
overall: 27 in x 39 in x 11 in; 68.58 cm x 99.06 cm x 27.94 cm
ID Number
2005.0279.074
accession number
2005.0279
catalog number
2005.0279.074
subject
Maritime
See more items in
Work and Industry: Maritime
Transportation
Data Source
National Museum of American History, Kenneth E. Behring Center

Comments

Add a comment about this object