Microscope

<< >>
Description
This is a compound monocular with coarse and fine focus, triple nosepiece, inclination joint, circular stage, and sub-stage iris diaphragm; the sub-stage mirror is missing. The inscription on the tri-leg base reads “Queen & Co. Philada” and “1392.”
This appears to be an Acme No. 3. Sidle & Poalk began making Acme microscope in 1879. By 1880, the firm had moved from Philadelphia to Lancaster, and was trading as John W. Sidle & Co. and/or the Acme Optical Works. Queen & Co. took over production soon thereafter.
Describing the Queen business in April 1888, a reporter for Scientific American noted that “The microscopes of the various ‘Acme’ patterns are made here, these being finished up in lots of from 25 to 50 of a kind; many of the parts are made up by hundreds at a time. As the best drawn steel pinions to be found in the market have proved to be of insufficient exactness to make a perfect rack and pinion movement, all the pinions and racks used here in the manufacture of microscopes are cut by fine machinery specially adapted to this work. To secure smoothness in motion, each rack and pinion is ‘ground in.’ The making and adjustment of the rack and pinion is one of the most vital points of a microscope; indeed, it is an art of itself.”
Ref: James W. Queen & Co., Priced and Illustrated Catalogue of Microscopes and Accessories (Philadelphia, 1890), pp. 46-48.
Location
Currently not on view
date made
1880-1900
maker
James W. Queen & Co.
place made
United States: Pennsylvania, Philadelphia
Physical Description
metal (overall material)
glass (overall material)
brass (overall material)
Measurements
overall: 36.2 cm x 14.8 cm x 20.8 cm; 14 1/4 in x 5 13/16 in x 8 3/16 in
ID Number
MG.124271
catalog number
M-9780
accession number
124271
Credit Line
Division of Insects, National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution
subject
Science & Scientific Instruments
See more items in
Medicine and Science: Medicine
Science & Mathematics
Microscopes
Data Source
National Museum of American History, Kenneth E. Behring Center

Comments

Add a comment about this object