Microscope

<< >>
Description
This is a substantial compound monocular with coarse and fine focus, trunnion, mechanical stage, sub-stage mount, and accessories for petrographic work. The wooden case is lined with purple silk and velour. The “NACHET / 17 Rue St. Séverin / Paris” inscription refers to an important French optical firm that was begun by Camille Sebastien Nachet in 1839. The firm became Nachet et Fils around mid-century, moved to this address in the early 1860s, and began making petrographic microscopes around 1880.
This belonged to Kenneth E. Lohman (b. 1897), a geologist with the U.S. Geological Survey who was particularly interested in diatoms.
Ref: Albert Johannsen, Manual of Petrographic
Location
Currently not on view
date made
after 1890
maker
Nachet et Fils
place made
France: Île-de-France, Paris
Physical Description
brass (overall material)
glass (overall material)
Measurements
case: 6 1/2 in x 19 1/2 in x 11 1/2 in; 16.51 cm x 49.53 cm x 29.21 cm
overall: 14 7/8 in x 4 1/4 in x 6 1/8 in; 37.7825 cm x 10.795 cm x 15.5575 cm
ID Number
MG.278133.01
catalog number
278133.01
M-12292
accession number
278133
Credit Line
Kenneth E. Lohman
subject
Science & Scientific Instruments
See more items in
Medicine and Science: Medicine
Microscopes
Science & Mathematics
Data Source
National Museum of American History, Kenneth E. Behring Center

Comments

Add a comment about this object