SKETCH OF THE HARBOR OF ST LOUIS REDUCED FROM CAPTN LEE’S MAP OF 1837

Description
This map runs from Cascarot Island in the north to Bloody Island opposite Saint Louis, to Dunstand Island just below Saint Louis, and to Cahoe Island in the south. Churchill’s Mill is identified, as is Pages Mills and the U.S. Arsenal.
This map is based on a survey conducted by Robert E. Lee in 1837, and it shows his plans for the construction of a dam from the head of Bloody Island to the Illinois shore, a revetment (a surface for an embankment) to protect the western shore of the island, and a long dike extending south from the bottom of the island.
Ref: “Report of the Chief Topographical Engineer,” in Public Documents Printed by Order of the Senate of the United States vol. 1 (1843): 121-250, on 132.
Location
Currently not on view
date made
1843
Physical Description
paper (overall material)
Measurements
overall: 17 in x 11 in; 43.18 cm x 27.94 cm
ID Number
PH.317507
catalog number
317507
accession number
230397
Credit Line
National Archives and Records Service
See more items in
Medicine and Science: Physical Sciences
Measuring & Mapping
Prints from the Physical Sciences Collection
Military
Data Source
National Museum of American History, Kenneth E. Behring Center

Comments

Add a comment about this object