Egg Cooker

Description
Four-egg cooker shaped as an inverted egg on three bracket-like supports with inward-scrolling feet to which are attached a circular, tapered-sided shelf with central depression for a circular, piercework, single-burner spirit lamp with cover. Cast floral knop and backplate secured with wingnut. Hollow, friction-fit egg opens to reveal a removable, circular-framed, four-ring wire caddy or lifter with central shaft handle formed from its four scrolled supports. Underside of fixed shelf is stamped incuse with "4" and "01" above and below a curvilinear shield containing "ROGERS, SMITH (arched) / - & C\o - / NEW HAVEN (curved) / CONN."
Maker is Rogers, Smith & Co. of New Haven, CT, 1862-1877. William Rogers, Sr. and George Smith founded the original Rogers, Smith & Co. in Hartford, CT, in 1857. They manufactured both flatware and holloware until 1862, when they sold the flatware division to Meriden Britannia Co. of Meriden, CT. Edward Mitchell purchased the holloware operation soon after and moved it to New Haven, keeping the Rogers, Smith & Co. name. Two months later, Mitchell also sold out to Meriden Britannia Co., who again continued producing wares under the Rogers, Smith & Co. trademark. It has been suggested that when Meriden Britannia closed Rogers, Smith & Co.'s New Haven plating shop in 1865, the "New Haven" mark stopped being used, but the style of some pieces indicates it possibly continued until all the facilities moved to Meriden in 1877. Meriden Britannia Co. still owned the Rogers, Smith & Co. trademark when it became part of International Silver Company in 1898.
Location
Currently not on view
date made
ca 1875
place made
United States: Connecticut, New Haven
Physical Description
silver plate (overall material)
Measurements
overall: 8 in x 5 in; 20.32 cm x 12.7 cm
ID Number
DL*382215
catalog number
382215
accession number
162289
Credit Line
Gift of Miss V. E. Snyder
See more items in
Home and Community Life: Domestic Life
Domestic Furnishings
Data Source
National Museum of American History, Kenneth E. Behring Center

Comments

Add a comment about this object