Trunk

Description
Japanned, dome-top box with scrolled hasp lock on front, circular wire ring handle on top, and two hinges at back. Box front is painted with a right-leaning sprig of two red tuliplike flowers with yellow-dotted centers surrounded by four stems of red and blue buds, two long and two short, all with alizarin and white overtones; and by white-veined, smooth- and serrated-edge green leaves and green, yellow, and translucent white leaflets. Box sides each have a four-arm, red-and-green pinwheel; thin yellow and thick red bands border lid top. Three-piece lid has a wire-rolled rim. Three-piece box has a top edge folded with wire bead below and a flat bottom. Tinned interior. No marks.
Attributed to the New York Filley Tinshop, started by Augustus Filley (1789-1845), of Lansingburgh, NY, circa 1814-1870.
Location
Currently not on view
Object Name
trunk
date made
ca 1814 - 1870
Physical Description
tinned sheet iron (overall material)
iron wire (rims; handle material)
asphaltum (exterior decoration material)
paint (exterior decoration material)
Measurements
overall: 5 in x 8 3/8 in x 3 5/8 in; 12.7 cm x 21.2725 cm x 9.2075 cm
place made
United States: New York, Lansingburgh
ID Number
1978.0119.20
accession number
1978.0119
catalog number
1978.0119.20
See more items in
Home and Community Life: Domestic Life
Domestic Furnishings
Group 1
Data Source
National Museum of American History, Kenneth E. Behring Center

Comments

Add a comment about this object