Microscope

Description
Made of steel and black iron, this small and rugged compound monocular has a screw focus, square stage, clips for the slide below the stage sub-stage mirror, and tri-leg base. It is in the field kit owned by Paul S. Conger (1897-1979), a botanist who studied diatoms under the auspices of the Carnegie Institution of Washington and the Smithsonian Institution.
The “WINKEL-ZEISS / GŐTTINGEN / Nr. 72116” inscription on the tube refers to a firm founded in 1857 by Rudolf Winkel, a precision mechanic in Göttingen. The Carl Zeiss firm became the largest stockholder in 1911. The firm’s logo became “WINKEL-ZEISS” in the late 1920s. The two firms merged in 1954.
Ref: Winkel-Zeiss, Klein-Microscop ST (Göttingen, 1939).
Location
Currently not on view
Object Name
field microscope
Physical Description
metal (overall material)
glass (overall material)
Measurements
overall: 16.8 cm x 9 cm x 5.2 cm; 6 5/8 in x 3 9/16 in x 2 1/16 in
ID Number
1995.0128.38.01
catalog number
1995.0128.38.01
accession number
1995.0128
subject
Science & Scientific Instruments
See more items in
Medicine and Science: Biological Sciences
Science & Mathematics
Microscopes
Data Source
National Museum of American History, Kenneth E. Behring Center

Comments

Add a comment about this object