1891 - 1933 Trinity Lutheran Church Parlor Throw

Description
In 1891 members of the Trinity Lutheran Church in Findlay, Ohio, created the blocks for this parlor throw to raise money for their newly organized church. Each person was to get ten names at ten cents each for the 25 blocks, for a total of $25.00. Rev. H. C. Stuckenberg was the pastor in charge at the time. When he left a few years later in 1893, the blocks were given to him and his wife, Bertha. It was not until after his retirement in 1929, and just before his death in 1933, that he and his wife settled on the arrangement of the blocks. It was then that she put the squares on a black ground and finished the project.
Location
Currently not on view
Object Name
quilt
date made
1891-1933
maker
unknown
Physical Description
fabric, silk, velvet, satin, ribbon, cotton (overall material)
thread, silk, chenille, metallic (overall material)
Measurements
overall: 71 in x 71 in; 180 cm x 180 cm
Place Made
United States: Ohio, Findlay
ID Number
TE*T13464
accession number
254849
catalog number
T13464
subject
Textiles
Religion
Quilts
Quilting
Domestic Furnishings
See more items in
Home and Community Life: Textiles
Quilts
Data Source
National Museum of American History, Kenneth E. Behring Center
Credit Line
Gift of Mrs. Mary Stuckenberg Feak
Additional Media

Visitor Comments

Add a comment about this object

**Please read before submitting the form**

Have a comment or question about this object to share with the community? Please use the form below. Selected comments will appear on this page and may receive a museum response (but we can't promise). Please note that we generally cannot answer questions about the history, rarity, or value of your personal artifacts.

Have a question about anything else, or would you prefer a personal response? Please visit our FAQ or contact page.

Personal information will not be shared or result in unsolicited e-mail. See our privacy policy.

Image CAPTCHA
Enter the characters shown in the image.