Graves & Co. 9-Keyed Bugle
- Description (Brief)
This 9-keyed bugle was made by Graves and Co. in Winchester, New Hampshire around 1837-1850. It is a C bugle made of copper with brass keys and trim, with an original B-flat coiled lead pipe. The bugle is marked: “Graves & Co. [/] Winchester, N.H.”
Samuel Graves (1794-1878) began making instruments in West Fairlee, Vermont from 1824 to 1830. He moved to his shop to Winchester, New Hampshire in 1830 and was joined by his partners, Cyrus Graves (Samuel‘s brother), Charles Alexander, and Henry P. Anderson. The company was owned by Samuel Graves and Charles Alexander, and known as “Graves & Alexander” and later as “Graves & Co.” Brass instrument maker Samuel W. Richardson, from Rochester, New York was a partner in the company from 1832 to 1839.
The company made mostly woodwind instruments, and after London instrument maker James Keat went to work for the firm around 1837, Graves & Co. began producing brass instruments. After 1845, the company exclusively made brass instruments. Graves and Company would continue with various owners and name changes in Boston from 1850 to 1869, after which it merged with E. G. Wright & Co., Henry Esbach, and Louis F. Hartman to form the Boston Musical Instrument Manufactory.
- This bugle was used by William R. Bayley (1816-1901), a music teacher and musician in Philadelphia. Bayley served as the leader of Bayley’s Independent Band and the State Fencibles Band of Philadelphia.
- Currently not on view
- date made
- Bayley, Weston D.
- Graves & Co.
- Graves & Co.
- Place Made
- United States: New Hampshire, Winchester
- Physical Description
- copper (overall material)
- brass (overall material)
- overall: 17 1/2 in x 5 1/2 in x 8 in x 13.9 cm; 44.45 cm x 13.97 cm x 20.32 cm x 5 15/32 in
- bugle: 17 3/8 in x 8 7/8 in x 5 1/2 in; 44.1325 cm x 22.5425 cm x 13.97 cm
- crook: 3 1/8 in x 1 13/16 in x 1 1/16 in; 7.9375 cm x 4.60375 cm x 2.69875 cm
- ID Number
- accession number
- catalog number
- Credit Line
- Gift of Dr. Weston D. Bayley
- Data Source
- National Museum of American History, Kenneth E. Behring Center