Dod Surveyor's Compass

Description
Lebbeus Dod (1739–1816) made clocks and mathematical instruments in Mendham, New Jersey. During the Revolution he established an armory for the manufacture and repair of muskets. Various design features—the face reads clockwise, the bar is narrow, and the vertical sights are held in place with dovetails—indicate that this compass dates from early in Dod's career. The signature reads "Lebbeus Dod, Mendham."
This compass was owned by King's College, which had been established by royal charter as the College of the Province of New–York in the City of New–York in America in 1754. An advertisement of that date mentions instruction in such subjects as numbering, measuring, surveying, and navigation. King's College was renamed Columbia College after the Revolution.
Ref: Silvio A. Bedini, Thinkers and Tinkers. Early American Men of Science (New York, 1973), p. 241.
William E. Drost, Clocks and Watches of New Jersey (Elizabeth, N.J., 1966), pp. 98–104.
Location
Currently not on view
maker
Dod, Lebbeus
place made
United States: New Jersey, Mendham
Measurements
overall length: 14 1/2 in; 36.83 cm
needle: 5 1/4 in; 13.335 cm
overall: 2 1/2 in x 14 5/8 in x 7 in; 6.35 cm x 37.1475 cm x 17.78 cm
ID Number
PH.335207
catalog number
335207
accession number
317998
Credit Line
Columbia University. Department of Civil Engineering and Engineering Mechanics
See more items in
Medicine and Science: Physical Sciences
Measuring & Mapping
Surveying and Geodesy
Data Source
National Museum of American History, Kenneth E. Behring Center

Comments

Add a comment about this object