Surveyor's Compass

Description
The narrow bar, dovetails holding the vertical sights in place, and face that reads clockwise, suggest that this compass dates from the middle years of the 18th century, when its owner, a Quaker preacher named Benjamin Ferris, settled at Quaker Hill in Dutchess County, N. Y.
Ref: Conrad S. Ham, "A Family History of a Group of Surveying Instruments 1750 to the Present Year 1954," Annual Report of Proceedings of the Connecticut Society of Civil Engineers 70 (1954): 134-138.
Location
Currently not on view
Object Name
compass (surveyor's plain)
Measurements
overall length: 13 5/8 in; 34.6075 cm
place made
United States: New York, Dutchess county
ID Number
1983.0548.01
accession number
1983.0548
catalog number
1983.0548.01
See more items in
Medicine and Science: Physical Sciences
Measuring & Mapping
Surveying and Geodesy
Data Source
National Museum of American History, Kenneth E. Behring Center

Comments

Add a comment about this object