Lozier Radiator Emblem

Description
The Lozier company manufactured bicycles before branching out to automobiles. Lozier experimented with designs and styles for three years, including the building of a steam car, before producing its first auto. In 1911 when chief designer Frederick C. Chandler left the company with two engineers to start his own firm, Lozier's sales began to fall. Lozier responded by cutting prices and trying to negotiate a takeover with Ford, but the company had to close in 1917.
Radiator emblems are small, colorful metal plates bearing an automobile manufacturer's name or logo that attached to the radiators grilles of early automobiles. Varying in shape and size, the emblems served as a small branding device, sometimes indicating the type of engine, place of manufacturing, or using an iconic image or catchy slogan to advertise their cars make and model. This emblems is part of the collection that was donated by Hubert G. Larson in 1964.
ID Number
TR.325528.150
accession number
260303
catalog number
325528.150
Credit Line
Hubert G. Larson
See more items in
Work and Industry: Transportation, Road
America on the Move
Radiator Emblems
Transportation
Road Transportation
Exhibition
America on the Move
Exhibition Location
National Museum of American History
Data Source
National Museum of American History, Kenneth E. Behring Center

Comments

Add a comment about this object