Kleiber Motor Truck Co. Radiator Emblem

Description
Kleiber and Company originally began as a carriage manufacturing company, but began producing trucks in 1914. Around 1919, the company began to operate as the Kleiber Motor Truck Company which it did until 1937. This emblem would date to this period. The metal emblem has a read back ground and white trim, and reads “Kleiber” in stylized white script.
Radiator emblems are small, colorful metal plates bearing an automobile manufacturer's name or logo that attached to the radiators grilles of early automobiles. Varying in shape and size, the emblems served as a small branding device, sometimes indicating the type of engine, place of manufacturing, or using an iconic image or catchy slogan to advertise their cars make and model. This emblem is part of the collection that was donated by Hubert G. Larson in 1964.
Location
Currently not on view
Object Name
emblem, radiator
ID Number
TR*325528.139
accession number
260303
catalog number
325528.139
See more items in
Work and Industry: Transportation, Road
Radiator Emblems
Transportation
Road Transportation
Data Source
National Museum of American History, Kenneth E. Behring Center

Comments

Add a comment about this object