Davis Radiator Emblem

This radiator emblem belonged to a Davis car that was manufactured by the George W. Davis Motor Car Company of Richmond, Indiana. Like many car companies, Davis originally produced horse buggies during the late 19th and early 20th century. By 1908 the Davis had begun producing automobiles, using other company’s components on their frames. Unlike some automobile companies who obfuscated their use of other manufacturer’s components, Davis touted using the best specialized units, advertising their use Continental engines, Timken ball bearings, and Delco starters. The George W. Davis Motor Car Company operated until 1928 when it was sold to the Automotive Corporation of America. The A.C.A. continued to produce Davis model cars up until 1930. The oval emblem has a blue background with the text “DAVIS” in white, with the gold text “GEO. W> DAVIS MOTOR CAR CO. RICHMOND, IND.” in gold text on a red background below.
Radiator emblems are small, colorful metal plates bearing an automobile manufacturer's name or logo that attached to the radiators grilles of early automobiles. Varying in shape and size, the emblems served as a small branding device, sometimes indicating the type of engine, place of manufacturing, or using an iconic image or catchy slogan to advertise their cars make and model. This emblem is part of the collection that was donated by Hubert G. Larson in 1964.
Currently not on view
ID Number
accession number
catalog number
Credit Line
Hubert G. Larson
See more items in
Work and Industry: Transportation, Road
Radiator Emblems
Road Transportation
Data Source
National Museum of American History


Add a comment about this object