Paterson Radiator Emblem

Description
This radiator emblem belonged to a Paterson automobile that was manufactured by the W. A. Paterson Company of Flint, Michigan between 1908 and 1923. Like many car companies, W. A. Paterson originally produced horse buggies during the late 19th and early 20th century. But Paterson began producing automobiles in 1908 and quit buggy production altogether two years later. The Paterson was produced originally as a four cylinder tourabout but soon was produced in six cylinder touring, roadsters, and sedans. W. A. Paterson died in 1921, and the company ceased production in 1924 after being sold to Dodge dealer Dallas Winslow. This five-sided plate-shaped emblem has a read background that reads “Paterson” in white script with the text “MADE IN FLINT” in gold below.
Radiator emblems are small, colorful metal plates bearing an automobile manufacturer's name or logo that attached to the radiators grilles of early automobiles. Varying in shape and size, the emblems served as a small branding device, sometimes indicating the type of engine, place of manufacturing, or using an iconic image or catchy slogan to advertise their cars make and model. This emblem is part of the collection that was donated by Hubert G. Larson in 1964.
Location
Currently not on view
Object Name
emblem, radiator
ID Number
TR*325528.187
accession number
260303
catalog number
325528.187
See more items in
Work and Industry: Transportation, Road
Radiator Emblems
Transportation
Road Transportation
Data Source
National Museum of American History, Kenneth E. Behring Center

Comments

Add a comment about this object