Halladay Motors Company Radiator Emblem

Description
This radiator emblem belonged to a Halladay automobile that was manufactured between 1907 and 1922. The Halladay was first manufactured by the Streator Motor Car Company, which sold its assets to the Barley Manufacturing Company in 1911, who produced the car until 1917 when it was sold to investors who founded the Halladay Motor Car Company and produced the car in a variety of models with a six-cylinder engine until 1922. The emblem has a blue background, a silver rim, and silver lettering that simply reads “HALLADAY.”
Radiator emblems are small, colorful metal plates bearing an automobile manufacturer's name or logo that attached to the radiators grilles of early automobiles. Varying in shape and size, the emblems served as a small branding device, sometimes indicating the type of engine, place of manufacturing, or using an iconic image or catchy slogan to advertise their cars make and model. This emblem is part of the collection that was donated by Hubert G. Larson in 1964.
Location
Currently not on view
Object Name
emblem, radiator
ID Number
TR*325528.120
accession number
260303
catalog number
325528.120
See more items in
Work and Industry: Transportation, Road
Radiator Emblems
Transportation
Road Transportation
Data Source
National Museum of American History, Kenneth E. Behring Center

Comments

Add a comment about this object