Elcar Radiator Emblem

Description
William and George Pratt of Elkhart, Indiana had owned the Elkhart Carriage & Harness Manufacturing Company since 1888 before producing their first automobile, the Pratt-Elkhart in 1909. In 1916 the company reorganized as the Elkhart Carriage & Motor Car Company and began producing the Elcar. In 1921 the Pratts sold the company, which was reorganized as the Elcar Motor Company to continue producing the Elcar. The stock market crash in 1931 was a death knell for many auto companies, including Elcar. It has a white and blue rectangle framing a white “ELCAR” on a red background. The rime of the emblem reads “ELKHART CARRIAGE & MOTOR CAR CO./ELCAR/ELKHART, INDIANA, U.S.A.” The attribution to the Elkhart Carriage & Motor Car Company places its date between 1916 and 1921.
Radiator emblems are small, colorful metal plates bearing an automobile manufacturer's name or logo that attached to the radiators grilles of early automobiles. Varying in shape and size, the emblems served as a small branding device, sometimes indicating the type of engine, place of manufacturing, or using an iconic image or catchy slogan to advertise their cars make and model. This emblem is part of the collection that was donated by Hubert G. Larson in 1964.
Location
Currently not on view
Object Name
emblem, radiator
ID Number
TR*325528.090
accession number
260303
catalog number
325528.090
See more items in
Work and Industry: Transportation, Road
Radiator Emblems
Transportation
Road Transportation
Data Source
National Museum of American History, Kenneth E. Behring Center

Comments

Add a comment about this object