“American Brewery” Sign

This painted shop sign for Baurenschmidt’s American Brewery features a patriotic shield with the initials “FB” (for the brewery’s owner, Frederick Bauernschmidt) incorporated into the flag-inspired shield design. The sign’s gold lettering and red, white, and blue shield are set against a black background. The sign is made of wood and dates to the period of Baurenschmidt’s American Brewery, which Frederick Baurenschmidt operated in Baltimore between 1899 and 1919.
Born in Baltimore, Maryland, in 1863, Frederick Bauernschmidt was the son of brewer George Baurenschmidt, who had emigrated from Wambach, Germany, in 1853, and his wife Margaretha, whose family (Weissner) was also involved in the city’s brewing business. George, who started life in America working for another Baltimore brewery, opened his own beer plant in 1864. As his family grew, his sons, including Frederick, learned the business and, in 1897, Frederick began construction of his own modern brewery. The following year, George sold his plant to the Maryland Brewing Company, a conglomerate that aggressively acquired various independent companies, many of which had been established by immigrants from Germany.
Frederick borrowed money to complete his new production plant, which he named “American Brewery,” when it opened in 1899. His business grew and by the dawn of Prohibition in 1919, Frederick Bauernschmidt was producing around 350,000 barrels of beer annually. With the adoption of the Eighteenth Amendment, prohibiting the production and sale of alcoholic beverages in the United States, Baurenschmidt’s American Brewery closed. Bauernschmidt remained active in the civic life of Baltimore and made significant contributions to support the Union Memorial Hospital and other organizations and associations devoted to providing care to Baltimore’s citizens. Frederick Baurenschmidt died in 1933.
This wooden sign is part of a large collection of brewing material donated to the museum in 1967 by former brewmaster Walter Voigt, of Ruxton, Maryland, near Baltimore. Voigt’s collection consists of objects and archival materials reflecting the history of brewing in the mid-Atlantic region between 1870 and the beginnings of consolidation and large-scale, industrial production in the 1960s. His correspondence reveals an interest in preserving the history of brewing in America before brewmasters were “replaced by chemical engineers and highly trained chemists in modern laboratories.” Voigt’s papers are housed in the museum’s Archives Center, Collection #ACNMAH 1195, “Walter H. Voigt Brewing Industry Collection, 1935-1967.”
Currently not on view
Object Name
sign, corporate, beer brewery
ID Number
accession number
catalog number
Industry & Manufacturing
See more items in
Work and Industry: Agriculture and Natural Resources
Data Source
National Museum of American History, Kenneth E. Behring Center

Visitor Comments

Add a comment about this object

**Please read before submitting the form**

Have a comment or question about this object to share with the community? Please use the form below. Selected comments will appear on this page and may receive a museum response (but we can't promise). Please note that we generally cannot answer questions about the history, rarity, or value of your personal artifacts.

Have a question about anything else, or would you prefer a personal response? Please visit our FAQ or contact page.

Personal information will not be shared or result in unsolicited e-mail. See our privacy policy.

Enter the characters shown in the image.