Miner’s Cap

Description (Brief)
This canvas mining cap has a red plastic brim with a metal and cardboard lamp bracket. There is a handwritten inscription on the top of the hat that reads: Harrisburg, Pa. / January 17, 1939 / Inaguration oF / Aurthur H. James. Underneath that inscription is a variety of handwritten names: John / Ethel / Frank / Tessie / Francess / Emily. The sides of the cap have the words “JAMES/LUZERNE COUNTY” in large printed letters. A red and white sticker on the lamp bracket reads “JOHN / GAVENONIS / 127 / PIERCE ST. / PLY. PA.” The signatures on this mining cap speak to the personal connections miner’s had with their cap. A miner chose their headgear, and took it with them to work where it was worn all day and used for decades.
Location
Currently not on view
Object Name
cap, mining soft
Measurements
overall: 4 in x 12 1/2 in x 7 1/2 in; 10.16 cm x 31.75 cm x 19.05 cm
ID Number
AG*MHI-MN-9405
catalog number
MHI-MN-9405
accession number
271417
See more items in
Work and Industry: Mining
Work
Industry & Manufacturing
Natural Resources
Mining Helmets
Data Source
National Museum of American History, Kenneth E. Behring Center

Comments

Add a comment about this object