George Washington | John Quincy Adams | James Buchanan | Ulysses S. Grant | Theodore Roosevelt | William H. Taft | Dwight D. Eisenhower | Richard M. Nixon | Lyndon B. Johnson | Jimmy Carter

Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter with Medals of Freedom received from President Clinton, 1999

After leaving office in 1981, Jimmy Carter established the Carter Center, a non-partisan institute which addresses national and international issues of public policy. The Center, built in conjunction with the Carter Library and Museum at Emory University in Atlanta, has brought together a variety of political leaders, scholars, and others to resolve conflict, promote democracy, and protect human rights. Since his presidency, Carter has published eleven books, and remains a highly visible proponent of world peace.