Woman Suffrage Button

Woman Suffrage Button

Usage conditions apply
Button worn by supporters of woman suffrage.
The nine stars represent the number of states in which women had full suffrage at the time it was made. The first nine states to extend suffrage to women were Wyoming (1869), Colorado (1893), Utah (1896), Idaho (1896), Washington (1910), California (1911), Kansas, Oregon and Arizona (all 1912).
"Votes for Women" was one of the most popular and recognizable slogans used by members of the woman’s suffrage movement.
Currently not on view
Object Name
Physical Description
metal (overall material)
overall: 3/4 in x 3/4 in x 1/4 in x 3/4 in; 1.905 cm x 1.905 cm x.635 cm x 1.905 cm
ID Number
accession number
catalog number
Women's Suffrage
See more items in
Political and Military History: Political History, Women's History Collection
Government, Politics, and Reform
Woman Suffrage
Data Source
National Museum of American History
Nominate this object for photography.   

Our collection database is a work in progress. We may update this record based on further research and review. Learn more about our approach to sharing our collection online.

If you would like to know how you can use content on this page, see the Smithsonian's Terms of Use. If you need to request an image for publication or other use, please visit Rights and Reproductions.


Add a comment about this object