Our museum is temporarily closed to support the effort to contain the spread of COVID-19. Read a message from our director, and check our website and social media for updates.

Ribbon, Woodrow Wilson, 1912

Ribbon, Woodrow Wilson, 1912

Usage conditions apply
As production of pin-back campaign buttons increased in the early twentieth century, regular ribbon wearing declined in popularity and they became associated primarily with special events. This ribbon promoted an election night gathering to celebrate the 1912 victory of Democratic candidates Woodrow Wilson and Thomas Marshall. The Wilson-Marshall ticket defeated former president Theodore Roosevelt and his running mate Hiram Johnson (Progressive), incumbents William Howard Taft and James Sherman (Republican), and the Socialist ticket of Eugene V. Debs and Emil Seidel who finished in that order.
Object Name
Object Type
date made
associated date
associated person
Wilson, Woodrow
Marshall, Thomas R.
associated institution
Democratic National Party
ID Number
accession number
catalog number
Credit Line
Sara L. Lepman in memory of Dr. Harry Lepman
Political Campaigns
Presidential Campaign of 1912
See more items in
Political and Military History: Political History, Campaign Collection
American Democracy: A Great Leap of Faith
Exhibition Location
National Museum of American History
Data Source
National Museum of American History
Nominate this object for photography.   

Our collection database is a work in progress. We may update this record based on further research and review. Learn more about our approach to sharing our collection online.

If you would like to know how you can use content on this page, see the Smithsonian's Terms of Use. If you need to request an image for publication or other use, please visit Rights and Reproductions.


Add a comment about this object