Loch Torridon was built in 1881 by Barclay, Curle & Company in Glasgow, Scotland. It measured 312 feet in length, 42 feet in beam, 24 feet in depth of hold, and 2,081 tons. It was one of the best known, fastest, and most graceful 4-masted barques of the British merchant marine. Lock Torridon carried cargo and passengers between Glasgow and Calcutta. It was first under the command of Captain Pinder until 1882, when Captain Pattman took command. In 1912 it was sold to Russia, and on 24 January 1915 it was abandoned in sinking condition in 51.35N 12.28W (English Channel), while on a timber voyage from Fredrikstad to Geelong. The entire crew and the captain's terrier were saved by the steamer Orduna of Liverpool on a trip from Halifax to Liverpool.
The model was built ca. 1930 on a scale of 1/12 inches to the foot and is correct in all details and rigging. The British naval architect and mate of the original vessel verified the plans and fittings. Model builder J.S. Kamp was a member of the Philadelphia Ship Model Society and spent over 3000 hours were spent constructing the scratch-built model.