Our museum is temporarily closed to support the effort to contain the spread of COVID-19. Read a message from our director, and check our website and social media for updates.

Calendar - Smithsonian Chamber Music Society Presents Music from the Elizabethan Period through the end of the 19th Century

October 7, 2014

The Smithsonian Chamber Music Society, in residence at the National Museum of American History, celebrates its 38th season with performances of masterpieces from the Elizabethan period through the end of the 19th Century, played on some of the world’s most cherished musical instruments.

Presented through the Smithsonian Associates, the SCMS will offer two special series: “Masterworks of Four Centuries” and “The Axelrod Quartet.” “Masterworks” offers an eclectic repast, balancing familiar masterpieces with undeservedly neglected oeuvres perdues. During “Axelrod Quartet” performances, audiences are share in the unparalleled experience of hearing two spectacular quartets of instruments one made by Antonio Stradivari, the other by his teacher, Nicolo Amati. The SCMS will perform in the museum’s Warner Bros. Theater and in the Smithsonian Castle Commons until the museum’s new Hall of Music opens in 2015. One hour before each performance, SCMS artistic director Kenneth Slowik will host pre-concert lectures.

The Axelrod Quartet: Stradivarius and Amati
Saturday, Oct. 11, Sunday, Oct. 12; 7:30 p.m.
Warner Bros. Theater

The Axelrod Quartet — Marc Destrubé (violin), Marilyn McDonald (violin), James Dunham (viola) and Kenneth Slowik (violoncello) — presents Haydn: Quartet in B-flat Major, Op. 76, No. 4, Sunrise; Beethoven: Quartetto Serioso in F Minor, Op. 95; and Mozart: Quartet in G Major, K387.

Saturday, Jan. 31, Sunday, Feb. 1, 2015; 7:30 p.m.
Warner Bros. Theater

The Axelrod Quartet — Marc Destrubé (violin), Marilyn McDonald (violin), James Dunham (viola) and Kenneth Slowik (violoncello), with guest artists Leah Gastler (viola) and Arnie Tanimoto (violoncello) — presents Haydn: Quartet in D Minor, Op. 76, No. 2, the Quinten; Mozart: Quartet in A Major, K464 and Brahms: Sextet in G Major, Op. 36.

Saturday, March 7, Sunday, March 8; 7: 30 p.m.
Hall of Music

The Axelrod Quartet — Marc Destrubé (violin), Marilyn McDonald (violin), James Dunham (viola) and Kenneth Slowik (violoncello) — presents Haydn: Quartet in C Major, Op. 76, No. 3, the Emperor;
Mozart: Quartet in D Minor, K421/417b and Zemlinsky: Quartet #1 in A Major, Op. 4.

Masterworks of Four Centuries

Saturday, Nov. 22 and Sunday, Nov. 23; at 7:30 p.m.
Smithsonian Castle Commons

Robert Mealy (violin) joins Kenneth Slowik (harpsichord and fortepiano) to present Johann Sebastian Bach: Sonatas in E Major, BWV 1016 and A Major, BWV 1015; Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach: CPE Bachs Empfindungen.

Saturday, Dec. 6 and Sunday, Dec. 7; at 7:30 p.m.
Smithsonian Castle Commons

The Esterházy Machine — Sandra Miller (flauto traverso), Steven Dann (viola), Myron Lutzke (violoncello) and Kenneth Slowik, (baryton and fortepiano) — presents trios featuring the flute and the baryton by Joseph Haydn and Andreas Lidl.

Saturday, Jan. 10 and Sunday, Jan. 11; at 7:30 p.m.
Warner Bros. Theatre

The Smithsonian Chambers Players — Mark Fewer (violin), Steven Dann (viola), Myron Lutzke (cello), John Feeney (bass) and Kenneth Slowik (fortepiano) — present an all Schubert program: Trio in B-flat Major, D898 and Quintet in A Major, D667, The Trout.

Saturday, March 28 and Sunday, March 29; at 7:30 p.m.
Hall of Music

The Castle Trio — Marilyn McDonald (violin), Kenneth Slowik (violoncello), and Lambert Orkis (fortepiano) — present The Three Trios of Op.1 by Ludwig Van Beethoven.

Saturday, April 11and Sunday, April 12; at 7:30 p.m.
Hall of Music

The Smithsonian Chamber Players — Vera Beths and Cynthia Roberts (violins), Steven Dann and Max Mandel (viola) and Kenneth Slowik (violoncello) — present Beethoven’s Quintet in C Major, Op. 29 and his Quintet in C Minor, Op. 104.

Saturday, May 16 and Sunday, May 17; at 7:30 p.m.
Hall of Music

The Smithsonian Chamber Players — Christopher Krueger (Renaissance flute), Kenneth Slowik (treble viol), Catherine Slowik (bass viol), Lucas Harris (lute), David Walker (cittern) and Daniel Swenberg (bandora) — present English Music from Shakespeare’s Time.


            Tickets are required and may be purchased in advance by series or individually at the door when available. “Masterworks of Four Centuries” series tickets are $90 for Smithsonian Associates members and $115 for non-members. “The Axelrod Quartet” series tickets are $66 for members and $84 for non-members. For information about locations, ticket prices or to purchase tickets, call (202) 633-3030 or visit www.residentassociates.org.

Note to Editors: Critics may call Valeska Hilbig at (202) 633-3129 or (202) 309-2152 to arrange for tickets. 

            Through incomparable collections, rigorous research and dynamic public outreach, the National Museum of American History explores the infinite richness and complexity of American history. It is currently renovating its west exhibition wing, developing galleries on business, democracy and culture. The museum is located at 14th Street and Constitution Avenue N.W., and is open daily from 10 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. (closed Dec. 25). Admission is free. For more information, visit https://americanhistory.si.edu. For Smithsonian information, the public may call (202) 633-1000.