Image of CIO-Political Action Committee

Register Today, CIO-Political Action Committee, 1948

Image of Boys Scouts of America / Freedom's Foundation

Heed Youth's Call, Vote as You Think but Vote, Boys Scouts of America / Freedom's Foundation, 1956

Image of Republican National Committee poster

How Do You Get an Elephant into an Election Booth? Republican National Committee, 1964

Image of Rock the Vote, MTV

Rock the Vote, MTV, 1992

VOTE: The Machinery of Democracy


William L. Bird Jr.

Project Manager

Kathryn Campbell

Exhibition Designer

Nigel Briggs

Collections Manager

Lisa Kathleen Graddy

Exhibition and Web Editors

Angela Roberts

Rosemary Regan

Joan Mentzer

Nancy Growald Brooks

Web Program

Benjamin Bloom

Dana Greil

Matthew MacArthur

Crystal Fernandez, Intern

Web Design


Contributors of Goods and Services

We gratefully acknowledge the following individuals, organizations, and corporations for their contributions to this exhibition


Election Data Services, Inc.

Donors and Lenders of Exhibition Material:

American Institute of Graphic Art

Ralph E. Becker Collection of Political Americana

Martin A. Coyle Jr.

Michael V. DiSalle in memory of Thomas H. Williams

District of Columbia Board of Elections

Fairfax County Board of Elections

International Foundation for Election Systems

Robert Kraut

Sara L. Lepman in memory of Dr. Harry Lepman

Clerk of Marion County, Oregon

Palm Beach County, Florida, Board of Supervisors and Supervisor of Elections

Merle P. Prater, Ph.D.

Rockwell Manufacturing Company

Robert A. Rosenberg

Society for the Oldest Inhabitants of the District of Columbia

Benjamin, Harvey G., Joseph B., Martin, and Norman Stack

University of California at Berkeley, Institute of Governmental Studies

University of Illinois at Chicago, School of Art and Design, City Design Center

Special Thanks:

Kim Brace

Design for Democracy

Margaret A. Jurgensen

Marcia Lausen

Teresa LePore

Patrick Loftus

Stephen Melamed

Brad Merriman

Montgomery County, Maryland, Board of Elections

William S. Rouverol

Roy G. Saltman

Dick Smolka

Liz Weiner

Bob Zeni